Sign In



The ASiT Council has evolved over the years and consists of an executive committee, regional representatives, speciality representatives, non-executive elected members and invited observers.

Executive Committee

This consists of the President and Past-Presidents, Vice-Presidents, Honorary Secretary, Associate Honorary Secretary, Director of Education, Treasurer, Yearbook Editor, Webmaster & Bursary Liaison, Conference Coordinator, Communications Officer and Social Media Officer. More information and member biographies are shown on our Executive Committee page.

Regional Representatives

Our regional representative act as points of contact between ASiT and trainees within their respective regions. They offer assistance with training issues, general advice and support as well as facilitate regional grant applications and organise regional courses. A full list can be found on our Regional Representatives page.

Speciality Representatives

ASiT works for trainees in all ten recognised surgical specialities and it is only with collaboration and cooperation that we can further excellence in surgical training. Our speciality representatives do an invaluable job conveying their sub-speciality views to ASiT and acting as liaisons between ASiT and speciality associations in all training matters. For a list of speciality trainee representatives and other representatives of different doctor groups (medical students, foundation doctors and core trainees) please visit our Specialities page.

Non-Executive Members

To ensure adequate council representation of different aspects and cohorts in surgical training, several ASiT members are also elected as non-executive council members for the following roles:

  • Mentoring Lead: Nathan Walker
  • Deputy Mentoring Lead: Rachel Khaw
  • Innovation Lead: Angela Lam
  • Equality and Diversity Officer: Michael El-Boghdady  
  • Foundation Doctor Representative: Aqua Asif (
  • Medical Student Representative: Setthasorn Ooi (
  • Core Surgical Training (CST) Representative: Lara Rose Manley
  • Trainee Editor - Surgery Journal: Walid Mohamed
  • Associate Trainee Editor - Journal of Surgical Simulation: Catherine Lovegrove
  • Robotic and Digital Initiative (RADAR) Trainees' Committee Chair: Josh Burke
  • Robotic Surgery Lead: Muhammad Fahad Ullah

Invited Observers

Our council also invites the following representatives from organisations closely involved in surgical training as observers on some of its council meetings:

  • BMA Junior Doctors Committee Representative: Nia Jones
  • RCSEng Trainee Committee Representative: Victoria Pegna
  • RCSEd Trainee Committee Representative: Kirsty Mozolowski
  • RCSPG Trainee Committee Representative: David Leiberman
  • Irish Surgical Training Group (ISTG) Trainee Committee Representative: Amy Fowler
Twitter Feed