Sign In
ASiT 2021 Conference Prize Winners



Thank you to everyone who submitted abstracts to the ASiT Annual Conference 2021. The quality of research and projects displayed was excellent as always, and ASiT is grateful to the supporting organisations and all those who helped with marking and judging.

Congratulations to all prize winners! Here is a list of all the awards:

ASiT Conference 2021 Prizes




ASiT/Swann-Morton Medal

Winner: Arwel Poacher

Title: The Four Year Clinical and Economic Impact of an Extended Screening Program for Developmental Dysplasia of the Hip in Cardiff and Vale University Health Board



ASiT/TMS Poster of Distinction Prize

Winner: Conor Jones

Title: Summarising the reporting of outcomes in studies of robot-assisted cholecystectomy: a systematic review


ESO Surgical Education & Training Prize

Winner: Thomas Baldock

Title: The Junior Doctor Changeover Effect – Does it exist in General Surgery?


STARSurg Medical Student Prize

Winner: Lauren Greasley

Title: Wide-awake local anaesthetic no tourniquet (WALANT) vs general/regional anaesthetic for flexor tendon injuries: a single-centre, retrospective cohort study

SRS Academic & Research Prize

Winner: Waheed-Ul-Rahman Ahmed

Title: Genome-wide association analysis and replication in 810,625 individuals identifies novel therapeutic targets for varicose veins


ASGBI Short Paper Prize

Winner: Nav Thavanesan

Title: Clinical factors predictive of both successful and unsuccessful arterial embolization in the management of lower gastrointestinal bleeding


NRC Collaborative Research Prize

Winner: Harry Spiers

Title: An international multi-centre appraisal of the management of acute CHOLEcystitis during the COVID-19 pandemic: The CHOLECOVID Study


ASiT COVID-19 Prize

Winner: Barry Kerr

Title: Changing the Management of Epistaxis in the COVID-19 Era

BBRAUN Innovation Prize

Winner: Bence Baljer

Title: Resorbable Composite Materials for Fracture Fixation

BJS Systematic Review Prize

Winner: Soham Bandyopadhyay

Title: Traumatic brain injury-related paediatric mortality and morbidity in low- and middle-income countries: a systematic review and meta-analysis


ASiT WinS Equality & Diversity Prize

Joint-Winner: Ricky Ellis ("The Impact of Disability on Performance in the Intercollegiate Membership of the Royal College of Surgeons Examination (MRCS)")

Joint-Winner: Sanah Ali ("Experience of Implementing Diversity Teaching into University of Oxford")


The Prakash Sinha Quality Improvement & Sustainability Prize

Winner: David Hopkin

Title: Theatre and the environmental impact: if you don’t measure it can’t be managed





ASiT MedAll Poster Engagement Prize

Winner: Shaheer Aslam Joiya

Title: The "6Pm Series": Addressing medical education for final year medical students during the pandemic


Mammary Fold Prize

Winner: Kin Yik Chan

Title: Perioperative Utility of Tranexamic Acid in Oncological Breast Surgery: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis


SCTS Trainee Prize

Winner: Maria Georgi

Title: Computational modelling of 3D printed scaffolds for heart valve regeneration


BOTA Prize

Winner: William Levitt

Title: The statistical value of different clinical characteristics in evaluation of suspected Cauda Equina Syndrome

BASO Trainee Prize

Winner:  Ben Atkinson

Title: Improving surgical and non-surgical oncological outcomes in patients with head and neck cancer

Roux Group Trainee Prize

Winner: Louise Finch

Title: Endovascular hepatic artery stents in the modern management of post-pancreatectomy haemorrhage


BNTA Prize

Winner: Ping Hei Cheng

Title: Management, Complications and Neurological Outcomes of Aneurysmal Subarachnoid Haemorrhage in Elderly Patients



ALSGBI Trainee Prize

Winner: Jeffrey Leung

Title: Quality of Clinical Practice Guidelines for Laparoscopic Surgery: Systematic Review


AOT Prize

Winner: Judith Osuji

Title: Is telephone triage here to stay? An audit of the impact of COVID 19 on a Head and Neck cancer clinic



Rouleaux Club Prize

Winner: Ahmad Guni

Title: A 360-degree exploration of key factors in consent in aortic aneurysm repair


Winner: Adam Misky

Title: Tackling Jersey Finger Using Extraosseous Tunnels – Study of a New Technique



The Dukes' Club Prize

Winner: Henriette Wa Katolo

Title: Outcome reporting following rectopexy requires standardisation for reproducibility and transparent outcome analysis

Herrick Society Prize

Winner: Caitlin Carolan

Title: Comparing outcomes in right versus left kidney transplantation; a systematic review and meta-analysis


BSOT Prize

Winner: Sonam Patel

Title: Salvage versus primary robot-assisted radical prostatectomy: a propensity-matched comparative effectiveness study from a high-volume tertiary centre

TriPS Prize

Winner: Olugbenga Awolaran

Title: Prospective Evaluation of Virtual Consultations in Paediatric Surgery and Urology: Lessons from the Pandemic Times



BAOMS Trainee Prize

Winner: Amr Taha

Title: An extensive infected Plunging Ranula in a ten-year-old with a Review of Literature Reviews between 2000-2020


BOMSS Trainee Prize

Winner: Peter Ishak

Title: Pathology Pick up Rate in Routine Preoperative Endoscopy and its Impact on Patients Undergoing Gastric Bypass Surgery


IJS Case Report Prize

Winner: Aoife Mallon

Title: Use of 3D Printing Technology in Surgical Planning and Decision Making in ENT Skull Base Surgery- An Axial 3D First in Northern Ireland


RCS PGCert Medical Education Prize

Winner: André Tulloch

Title: Increasing Representation in Surgical Careers – the First Cut Mentorship Programme for Medical Students

British Hernia Society Prize

Winner: Anne Ewing

Title: The impact of COVID-19 on hernia surgery in the Lothian region of Scotland


IME Ethics Prize

Winner: Sally Tucker

Title: Navigating the morality of postponing urgent cancer surgery in the Covid-19 pandemic



Winner: Gabriella Marchitelli

Title: Patients' Perceptions of Complications Following Thyroidectomy


GlobalSurg Global Surgery Prize

Winner: Farizeh Ahmed

Title: Does surgical intervention improve quality of life for patients with chronic ear disease in Nepal?

Journal of Surgical Simulation Prize

Winner: Alexander Coombs

Title: The Impact of Using A Virtual Reality Surgical Curriculum To Train Scrub Practitioners In Complex Orthopaedic Surgery


ASiT WinS Prize

Winner: Sabbur Anwar

Title: How far do cultural values between first and second generational medical students differ according to GMC guidelines


CMR Surgical Robotic Surgery Prize

Winner: Conor Jones

Title: Transoral robotic surgery: Comparing the geography of research publications with the global burden of disease


Gray’s Surgical Anatomy Human Factors Prize

Winner: Lydia Pearson

Title: A survey on the perceived effect of background music on intra-operative stress, anxiety and surgical task load on the operating surgeon

CMR Surgical
Twitter Feed