Sign In
ASiT 2018 Conference Prize Winners

Many thanks to all delegates for attending the Association of Surgeons in Training 2018 International Surgical Conference in Edinburgh. Below is a list of prize winners - Congratulations to all! 


ASiT Conference 2018 Prizes


ASiT /Swann - MortonMedal

Winner: Sandeep Nayar

Title:  Novel Evaluation of a Laparoscopic Appendicectomy Virtual Reality Simulator using Cognitive Task Analysis

 TMS Poster of Distinction Prize

Winner: Adnan Taib

Title: Can an Ice Cream Based Oral Nutritional Supplement Help Address The Issue of Malnutrition in Elderly Surgical Patients?


 ASiT Medical Student Poster of Distinction

Winner: En Lin Goh

Title: Laparoscopic vs Open Hepatectomy for Hepatocellular Carcinoma in Patients with Cirrhosis: A Meta-Analysis of the Long-Term Survival Outcomes


 Mammary Fold Prize

Winner: Hannah Waddington

Title: The Effects of Intercostal Nerve Blocks on Post-Operative Pain Outcomes Following Mastectomy and Wide Local Excision


 BOTA Prize

Winner: Navin Nagesh

Title: Evidence Supporting the Need to Reintroduce School Screening for Scoliosis in the UK




 AUGIS Trainee Prize

Winner: Mahmood Vazirian-Zadeh

Title: Evaluation of the Safety and Effectiveness of Intraoperative Choledochoscopic Clearance of Bile Duct Stones (BDS) during Laparoscopic Cholecystectomy



 ALSGBI Trainee Prize

Winner: Dominic Jones

Title: Mechanical Forces in Minimally Invasive Surgery: An Analysis of Surgical Experience


 AOT Prize

Winner: David Selwyn

Title: When to Refer: Validating the Evidence-based Acute Otitis Externa Score (EARS


 Rouleaux Club Prize

Winner: Niroshan Francis

Title: Stented vs Stentless Aortic Valve Replacement in Patients with Small Aortic Root: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis


 SURG Prize

Winner: Ifrah Asmat 

Title: Improving the Quality of Urology Ward Round Documentation


 Plasta Prize

Winner: Benjamin Smeeton

Title: A Critical Review of Melanoma Self-Screening Tools on YouTube – A Missed Opportunity?


 Dukes Club Prize

Winner: Amanda Koh

Title: Therapeutic Role of Water-Soluble Contrast Media in Adhesive Small Bowel Obstruction: A Systematic Review


 BNTA-ASiT Prize

Winner: Jade Stephenson

Title: A Systematic Review of Cognitive Functional Outcomes Reported in Patients with Glioblastoma Multiforme Treated with Surgical Resection


 BAOMS Prize

Winner: Arpan Tahim

Title: A Multi-Disciplinary Approach to Facilitate the Intraoral Excision of a Deep Lobe Parotid Lesion Using Ultrasound Guided Wire Localization


 Carrel Club Trainee Prize

Winner: Matthew Byrne

Title: Evaluation of Quality of Online Information for Patients in Transplantation


 BAPS Prize

Winner: Alasdair Ball

Title: National Audit of the Management of Right Iliac Fossa Pain in Children


 SCTS Prize

Winner: Angeliki Kosti

Title: Shot Through the Heart! (But Not To Blame...)


 SARS Prize

Winner: Sinan Khadhouri

Title: Medically Expulsive Therapy (MET) has no benefit in improving spontaneous stone passage (SSP) in patients .


 ASGBI Short Paper Prize

Winner: Matthew Byrne

Title: School Level Education to Increase Organ Donation and The Effect Of Deprivation


ESSQ Surgical Education Prize

Winner: David Bratt

Title: A Novel Validated Training Model for Teaching Suprapubic Catheter (SPC) Exchange



 IJS Case Report

Winner: Aminah Ahmad

Title: Small Bowel Diverticular Perforation : An Uncommon Surgical Emergency


 British Hernia Society Prize

Winner: Sivesh Kamarajah

Title: Biological Mesh Reinforcement of Complex and Contaminated Midline Laparotomy Achieving Fascial Closure: A Cross-Sectional Review of Stage of Innovation


 IME Ethics Prize

Winner: Thananjeyen Srirangarajah

Title: The Process of Informed Consent and Implications to Practice since Montgomery 2015


 BOMSS Trainee Prize

Winner: Gerlin Naidoo

Title: Late and Complete Gastric Band Erosion - Should We Have a Lower Index of Suspicion?


 BAETS Prize

Winner: Waqas Din

Title: A Prospective Study into Post-operative Management and Complication Rates of Patients Undergoing Thyroid Surgery


Birmingham Surgical Trials Consortium Prize

Winner: Mike Bath

Title: IMAGINE: Ileus Management International



ASiT Council
Twitter Feed