ASiT: Nurturing Surgical Excellence

ASiT Trainer Awards

Recognising Excellence in Surgical Training since 2000



Over the past two decades, the prestigious Silver Scalpel Award has played a vital part in recognising trainers who go the extra mile for their trainees and promote the highest standards of surgical training.

At a time of constant flux in the NHS, with training increasingly squeezed by demands on service, it is more important than ever that we recognise and reward good trainers. Training goes hand in hand with providing excellent patient care, and Silver Scalpel winners also deliver an exemplary service to their patients, creating a positive clinical environment and learning culture for trainees.

Eligibility: any consultant surgeon working in the UK and ROI

Now in its 24th iteration, ASiT is grateful to Swann-Morton for continuing to support this prestigious award.

Silver Scalpel Award 2023 Winner: Ms Tamara Kiernan, Consultant Oncoplastic Breast Surgeon, St. Helens and Knowsley NHS trust

This award was introduced in 2019 to recognise outstanding trainers at an ST3+ level and acknowledge that not all training takes place by consultants.


  • All UK and ROI doctors at a Higher Surgical Training level (not limited to formal training programmes)
  • All doctors working within surgical posts who are not established Consultants or Associate Specialists
  • Consultant or Associate Specialist Surgeons in their first year of practice who are nominated by their peers for education delivered during their final year of training will be considered
  • Nominations for doctors in more than one category, current ASiT Council or Executive Committee members and self-nominations will not be accepted

ASiT would like to thank The Faculty of Surgical Trainers for its sponsorship of this award.

Silver Suture Award 2023 Winner: Mr Ankur Khajuria​

With the increasing challenges facing surgical trainees, many are being supported and mentored by not only excellent trainers but excellent peers who support, guide and inspire. ASiT is delighted to introduce a new category for this year's awards to recognise more junior trainer grades (FY1 to CT2 or equivalent).


  • All UK and ROI doctors working at a Foundation or Core Surgical Training level (not limited to formalised training programmes)
  • All doctors working within surgical posts who are not established Higher Surgical Trainees, Registrars, Consultants or Associate Specialists
  • Nominations for doctors in posts with non-surgical rotations (e.g. Foundation Programmes) will be considered if the nomination pertains to training provided in surgical jobs
  • Nominations for doctors in more than one category, current ASiT Council or Executive Committee members and self-nominations will not be accepted

This award is kindly sponsored by BBraun.

Silver Scissors Award 2023 Winner: Ms Zoe Bakewell​


Please email all nominations as a single Word document file to with the email subject "Silver Scalpel/Suture/Scissors Nomination 2024" (please select the appropriate category in the email subject).

Nominations should be a maximum of two A4 pages detailing why you think your nominee is an exceptional surgical trainer and deserves the award. Please describe your trainer under the following headings in your nomination (each heading should have a maximum of 200 words):

  • Leadership
  • Resourcefulness
  • Training and Development
  • Professionalism
  • Communication
  • Promoting Equality and Diversity

Supporting evidence from other trainees, consultants, nursing and allied health practitioners can be provided within the nomination.

The top nominations will be selected for interviews by members of the Faculty of Surgical Trainers and the ASiT Executive Committee and the shortlisted candidates after interviews will be invited to join us at the 2024 ASiT Annual Conference where the winners will be announced. We look forward to receiving your nominations!

2023 - Ms Tamara Kiernan (pictured left)

2022 - Mr Peter Brennan 

2021 - Ms Manjit Dhillon

2020 - Mr Ron Coggins

2019 - Mr Edmund Leung

2018 - Ms Stella Vig 

2017 - Ms Rachel Hargest

2016 - Mr Gareth Griffiths

2015 - Mr Shafi Ahmed

2014 - Mr Mike Lavelle-Jones

2013 - Mr Clive Hepworth

2012 - Mr Humphrey Scott

2011 - Mr Gavin Pettigrew

2010 - Mr Ramez Kirollos

2009 - Mr David Khoo

2008 - Prof Ajith Siriwardena

2007 - Mr Ian Gunn

2006 - Ms Fiona MacNeill

2005 - Mr D. Jaffray

2004 - Mr Ray Clarke

2003 - Mr Christopher Curwen

2002 - Mr H. Sue-Ling

2001 - Mr H.J. Hershman

2023 - Mr Ankur Khajuria (pictured centre)

2022 - Mr Ricky Ellis

2021 - Mr Umar Wali and Mr Tom Lewis 

2020 - Mr Christian Asher 

2019 - Mr Richard Bamford

2023 - Ms Zoe Bakewell (pictured right)

2022 - Mr Arjun Nathan